It is currently 18-12-2017 10:10

WhatsApp stores the correspondence of users even after its removal

WhatsApp stores the correspondence of users even after its removal

by sigismund » 2016-08-01 13:03:42


WhatsApp marks a record as deleted, but in fact it is stored in a SQLite database.


Popular messenger WhatsApp is not completely removes the message history of users after they clear the chats in the app.

Expert Jonathan Zdziarski (Jonathan Zdziarski) found that the latest version for iOS keeps an archive of online chats and instant messages even after deleting them, what their purposes may be exploited by an attacker with physical access to the device. According to the researcher, completely delete a conversation, you can only remove the app itself.

As explained Zdziarski, WhatsApp marks a record as deleted, but in fact it is stored in a SQLite database, which in iOS is not cleared by default. When you delete a message just moved to the so-called "free list" and stored there until until on top of data will not be recorded new information. This usually occurs when the database requires additional space.

In April of this year, WhatsApp has strengthened encryption in your messenger. Now the application default encryption protected not only text messages, but all calls are forwarded photos and videos. The system protects the data from interception in the process of transmission, but on the device or in iCloud information is contained in an unencrypted form. The storage of chat logs allows law enforcement agencies to obtain access to the correspondence (with proper order) even if the data was deleted from the application.
sigismund
moderators
Сообщений: 788
Депозит: 0 BTC

Rating: 5